Archive for the 'Uncategorized' Category

December 1, 2013
posted by WitC_admin

The funding period has ended for #WitC and unfortunately we never made our goal.

The project never got past the 40% funding mark. I won’t pretend I’m not disappointed that this first attempt did not succeed and I still believe the concept for the anthology is sound.

I also believe the project isn’t entirely dead but rather, let’s just say, it’s in a medically induced coma.

First off, I want to say thank you. So many of you blogged, tweeted and shared information of the fundraiser. Many even donated and I am grateful for your support. I’d like to especially thank M. J. King and Marty Halpern for their help specifically with the fundraiser. Also, a big thanks to Kip Ayers for his brilliant artwork and to the few folks who helped get the word out (you know who you are and I owe you all a debt).

Perhaps this is the Universe’s way of telling me to stop messing about and to get on with my own writing projects. But we’ll see. I have the paddles ready should I decide to bring this project back to life in a different form in the New Year. You all have been wonderful and supportive—Thank you.

I’ll keep the Facebook Page live as well as the Website, should you wish to continue to follow us.  Take care and have a wonderful holiday season.


R. B. Wood

November 19, 2013
posted by WitC_admin

Eric Brown is a British science fiction author. His career took off in the late eighties with a succession of short stories in Interzone and other publications. His story The Time-Lapsed Man won the Interzone readers’ poll for the most admired story of 1988, and an Eastercon short text award in 1995. He was voted the Best New European SF writer of the Year in the early nineties and has subsequently won the British Science Fiction Award twice.

Read more about Eric HERE

Leslie Glasser (What) is a writer of fantasy and literary fiction and nonfiction. She grew up in Southern California and attended Santa Ana College, and earned a certificate in Vocational Nursing. She also attended California State University Fullerton and received her MFA in Writing from Pacific University in 2006.

She began publishing in 1992 with a story for Asimov’s Science Fiction. In 1999 she won the Nebula Award for The Cost of Doing Business, published in Amazing Stories.

Read more about Leslie HERE

Shira Lipkin has managed to convince Strange Horizons, Apex Magazine, Stone Telling, Clockwork Phoenix 4, Interfictions 2, and other otherwise-sensible magazines and anthologies to publish her work; two of her stories have been recognized as Million Writers Award Notable Stories, and she has won the Rhysling Award for best short poem.

Read more about Shira HERE

Elise Moser holds an Honours BA from McGill and is the current president of the Quebec Writers’ Federation. Her short stories have been published and broadcast in Canada, the U.S. and across the Commonwealth. Her stories “Malke’s Baby” and “Advanced Pilates Tickle Trunk” have won the CBC/QWF Short Story Competition in 2004 and 2006 respectively.

She was president of the Quebec Writers’ Federation between 2009 and 2012. She presently divides her time between Montreal and Sauk City, Wisconsin.

Read more about Elise HERE

Pat Murphy has used the ideas of the absurdist pseudophilosophy pataphysics in some of her writings. Along with Lisa Goldstein and Michaela Roessner, she has formed The Brazen Hussies to promote their work. Together with Karen Joy Fowler, Murphy co-founded the James Tiptree, Jr. Award in 1991.

With her second novel, The Falling Woman (1986), she won the Nebula Award, and another Nebula Award in the same year for her novelette, Rachel in Love.  Her short story collection, Points of Departure (1990) won the Philip K. Dick Award, and her 1990 novella, Bones, won the World Fantasy Award in 1991.

Read more about Pat HERE




You are currently browsing the archives for the Uncategorized category.